How to Reset MacBook Pro Without Losing Data in 2 Simple Steps

Is your old Mac slowing down after installing the latest macOS Mojave? Have you ever thought about resetting your Mac, such as MacBook Pro or iMac, to factory settings? Do you want to reset your Mac while keeping the files? If your answer is “yes.” You’re in the right place because your Mac’s complete factory reset process will be presented to you without data loss. Follow to get things done.

how to reset macbook pro without losing data

How to reset a Mac without losing data

It’s easy to reset your Mac without losing data by backing up files on your Mac in advance and restoring them after reset. To clearly illustrate the process:

Follow the guide below to reset your Mac to factory resets without losing any data now:

Part 1: Save your Mac on an external storage device

Save the Mac with Time Machine

Step 1: Connect an external storage device that can be used to your Mac.

Step 2: A window will appear asking you how to use the drive. Select ‘Use as a backup disk’. If you don’t see the window, go to the Apple System Preferences menu, then click Time Machine. Click Select a backup drive and choose your external drive. (If the external hard drive appears playback only on your Mac or if it’s not formatted as Time Machine requires, you’ll need to reformat it.)

Step 3: Then Time Machine will back up your Mac automatically. Generally speaking, the first backup will take a long time. If Time Machine is blocked for the preparation of the backup, check the correction in the linked page.

After choosing one of the above methods to back up your Mac, you can now start resetting your MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, iMac, or another Mac.

Part 2: Reset the MacBook / iMac

Reset a Mac is not a simple thing, like resetting your iPhone. You need to prepare and then reset.

Phase 1: Prepare your Mac for factory reset

Before resetting and erasing your Mac, be sure to disconnect from used or licensed apps.

1. Cancel iTunes Authorization

Open iTunes on your Mac Click “Account” and choose “Authorizations” – “Delete permission from that computer” – Enter your Apple ID and password, then click “Delete Permission.”

2. Turn FileVault off

Go to the Apple menu, click ‘System Preferences’ ‘ ‘Safety and Privacy’, check ‘FileVault’ click on the lock icon and unlock it enter your admin account and password, disable FileVault.

3. Turn off iCloud

Go to the Apple menu, click ‘System Preferences’, and ‘iCloud’ and confirm that you want to delete data from your Mac.

4. iMessage disconnection

Open iMessage and click “Messages” in the menu bar choose “Preferences” from the drop-down menu, select your iMessage account, and click “Disconnection.”

5. Clear touch bar data

Turn on or restart your Mac and hold the ‘Command’ ‘Utilities’ keys ‘ ‘Terminal’: xartutil ‘erase-all’ and press ‘Back’ Type: Yes and press ‘Back’ again.

Phase 2: reset your MacBook Pro/MacBook Air/iMac and more

Now you can clean and reset your Mac.

Step 1: Restart Mac in recovery mode.

  • Go to the Apple menu in the top left corner of your Mac screen and click ‘Reboot’.
  • When the system restarts, hold the “Command” and “R” keys together to view the MacOS utility window.

Step 2: Clear the Mac hard drive

  • Choose “Disk Utility” and click “Continue.”
  • Select your startup drive, commonly called Macintosh HD, and click “Erase” in the buttons at the top of the Disk Utility window.
  • Choose “Extended Mac OS “in the menu” and then click “Erase.”

Step 3: Reinstall macOS on your Mac computer

  • Go to Disc Utility in the top left corner of your screen.
  • Click ‘Reinstall macOS’.
  • Confirm that you want to reinstall macOS and follow the on-screen instructions to complete the process.

You’ve now reset your Mac to factory settings. You can restore backup files to your Mac, and then continue to use them again.

Add Comment